Home > Read Reviews > Direct Energy

Direct Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Direct Energy are their customer service, rated at 3.6 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 3.5 of 5.

Direct Energy Rating

Rhode Island Energy Ratings Score:


( 3.3 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low
About Direct Energy

Direct Energy is one of the largest providers of energy and energy-related services in North America. With customers in all 50 states, 10 Canadian provinces, and Washington, D.C. Direct Energy has also shown to be a progressive company, developing new plans, products and technology that deliver consumer insights and resources to help them save money. The Nest Learning Thermostat, Plenti and their personalized Online Account Manager are all tools that Direct Energy puts in the hands of their customers to use less energy. They're also very progressive, with active social communities on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest that help them stay in contact with their customers.

367 Reviews for Direct Energy


Great customer service!

(5 / 5)

  I needed help changing my service start date. Customer service rep was very helpful and accomplished this within minutes.

brad7526
March 27th, 2018

Hi Brad! We are happy we could assist you in a timely manner with changing the start date for your service. Don't hesitate to contact us if you ever have questions or concerns. All the best, - Jane

Direct Energy Responds April 5th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

DIRECT ENERGY THUMBS UP !!

(5 / 5)

  Everything was Great!!

Diana
March 21st, 2018

That's great feedback, Diana. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. Have a nice day! - Cole

Direct Energy Responds March 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Try the chat room.

(5 / 5)

  I had all my issues resoved in a polite and timely manner. Thank you Kim.

PJ
March 9th, 2018

We are glad to hear that Kim took care of all the concerns you had. Thanks for reaching out to us and leaving feedback. Our goal is to provide exceptional service to our customers. Thank you for your business. - Cole

Direct Energy Responds March 19th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

GoodForAllPeople

(5 / 5)

  Very good plan..

Sanjeevimurugan
February 20th, 2018

Thanks for the review and for choosing Direct Energy. Have a nice day! - Cole

Direct Energy Responds March 1st, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The Best Energy Provider Here

(5 / 5)

  I had renewed with Direct some months before but I guess it was too early for a renewal but one phone call and it was done immediately by a very knowledgeable Customer Service Rep. Direct has been my choice for some time now and I don't plan to change any time soon.

Randy H
January 17th, 2018

We are so glad to hear this feedback, Randy. Thanks for sharing your experience. Have a great evening. - Cole

Direct Energy Responds January 30th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Direct Energy Review

(5 / 5)

  Very professional! Great energy service provider. Great electricity rates!

Richard Ball
January 16th, 2018

Thank you for the review, Richard. We appreciate it. Have a good evening! - Cole

Direct Energy Responds January 30th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

experience with Direct Energy

(5 / 5)

  My experience with Direct Energy has been great but mostly the cost. I have had such great savings and for me that is most important in my time of financial difficulties. Thank you so much.

Maria Flores
January 5th, 2018

Maria, thanks for the wonderful feedback. We are glad to hear that you are able to see a savings while being with us. Have a great day! - Jane

Direct Energy Responds January 10th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

HAPPY CUSTOMER

(5 / 5)

  I happily report that in my almost 4 years of being their customer, I have zero complaints

DANIELLE W.
December 21st, 2017

Danielle, thank you so much for the kind words. We are always happy to hear from our customers on how we are doing. We appreciate your business. Have a wonderful day! - Cole

Direct Energy Responds January 10th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

great rates & a great company!

(5 / 5)

  very satisfied with the service and competitive electricity rates thanks!

great rates & a great company!
December 20th, 2017

Thank you for being a valued customer. We hope you have a wonderful Wednesday! - Cole

Direct Energy Responds January 10th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Love

(5 / 5)

  I absolutely love Direct Energy. Ive had them for a few years now with no complaints. I have the free weekends plans and its the best for my lifestyle since Im usually not home on week days

Alia M
December 20th, 2017

Thanks for the kind words, Alia! We appreciate the feedback. It's nice to hear that the free weekends plan is working out well for you. We hope you have a wonderful day. - Cole

Direct Energy Responds January 10th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

online chat

(5 / 5)

  Melinda with your online chat was wonderful. She took the time to corrected a problem I had and even was on the phone to help walk me through the enrollment process. Without her help and patience I probably would have given up and canceled and gone to another provider. With customer service people like her Direct Energy will service both old and new customers well. Please thank her for me

Frances
December 12th, 2017

Frances, this is wonderful feedback. We are pleased to hear Melinda was able to take care of the enrollment questions you had from start to end and walk you through the process. We will be sure to forward this feedback to her supervisor. Have a happy holiday season! All the best, - Jane

Direct Energy Responds December 15th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

on-line signup with direct energy

(5 / 5)

  in less that 10 minutes Kim had me setup for the fixed plan for electricity.

andrew
December 7th, 2017

Wow, that's great to hear that our customer care agent Kim was able to take care of your needs efficiently. We will be sure to forward this feedback to the appropriate team. Thank you for choosing Direct Energy. Happy Holidays! - Jane

Direct Energy Responds December 15th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Melinda in Customer Service

(5 / 5)

  My Family is facing an extremely hard time at the moment paying bills due to a death and job loss back to back. Melinda gave me all the information needed to help my family in our time of need. she is definitely a blessing is disguise and I couldnt be more thankful!!!

Amazing customer service rep
November 29th, 2017

Thank you for taking time to share your experience. We understand that sometimes our customers run into hardships and we always want to be there for our customers in their time of need and offer any assistance we can that will be helpful. We are so pleased to hear that our customer care agent, Melinda was able to provide you with options to get this resolved in your time of need. Please don't hesitate to reach out should you need our assistance again. Have a wonderful day! - Jane

Direct Energy Responds November 30th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Prompt Service

(5 / 5)

  Direct Energy was quick and easy to be a customer with and understood the neccity of having your home equipped with service

Prompt Service
November 21st, 2017

Thanks for this terrific feedback. We strive to provide great customer service and rates that are affordable. We also understand how convenience is very important. Glad we could help. Have a great day! - Jane

Direct Energy Responds November 22nd, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

By far the best

(5 / 5)

  This is the absolute best electric company I have been affiliated with. Their rates, plans and customer service has never failed to impress me.

Keri
November 20th, 2017

Thank you for taking time to leave your review. This feedback is very helpful. We try to ensure we are always providing the best customer service possible and happy that we can offer affordable rates. Have a great day! - Cole

Direct Energy Responds November 22nd, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very Satisfied

(5 / 5)

  I noticed that the electricity plan that I was paying was not the correct plan and the agent was able to help me and get my account lined out. And even offered a credit on our account for the trouble.

CMTIPP
November 2nd, 2017

This is wonderful to hear. Thank you for sharing the experience you had. Don't hesitate to reach out if you need anything else. All the best, -Jane

Direct Energy Responds November 7th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Nice peoole, affordable service

(5 / 5)

  Had an issue with mailing information due to an uncomfortable situation. It was taken care of promptly and politely.

Recommended to anyone
October 24th, 2017

Thank you for the feedback. We are glad to hear that everything was resolved efficiently. We hope you have a great day! - Cole

Direct Energy Responds October 25th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer service

(5 / 5)

  The customer service is simply great

Tammy
October 11th, 2017

Thank you, Tammy. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. Have a fantastic weekend. -Cole

Direct Energy Responds October 13th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer service

(5 / 5)

  I saw my bill with the surge charge protection plan which I had declined but I hate calling and waiting so I tried the online chat and the issue was fixed quickly the lady was very helpful, efficient and polite.

Customer service
September 12th, 2017

We're so happy you loved the online chat function! If you have any other questions or concerns we're always happy to help via chat or email at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com!

Direct Energy Responds September 13th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Rates

(5 / 5)

  My bill was so much lower when I switched.

O&GMOM
August 30th, 2017

We're so happy we were able to lower your bill! If you have any questions or concerns regarding your account or any of our other offerings please feel free to email us at @dedigitalcare@directenergy.com! Thanks again, - Henry

Direct Energy Responds September 7th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions



Direct Energy gives customers choice, simplicity, and innovation where energy, data, and technology meet.

Direct Energy makes energy work harder for their nearly five million home and business customers across North America. They compete to earn their customers' business every day. They empower their customers with simple solutions to track, understand, and control the electricity they use. Direct Energy provides the insights needed to make smarter decisions, be more efficient, reduce energy use, and save money.

Direct Energy will continue to lead energy innovation through connected experiences that make a difference in people's lives.


Updated: 12-09-2018
Example Bill
loading...